Q: I am a third grade teacher. I was arrested last Sunday for a DUI. I was not handcuffed or taken to jail. I have a hearing in two weeks. Do I have to report the arrest to my employer? -Utah Educator
I was arrested last Sunday for a DUI. Do I have to report the arrest to my employer?
A: Yes. Regardless if you plead guilty or not guilty or when your hearing is scheduled, you must report the arrest to your principal (or head school administrator) within 48 hours of the arrest. Your principal must report the arrest to the Utah State Office of Education within an additional 48 hours, or as soon as possible. It is important that UPPAC reviews the incident as you are an active educator in the classroom.
What is UPPAC? UPPAC is a committee of nine educators and two community members charged with maintaining and promoting a high standard of professional conduct and ethics among Utah teachers. It is advisory to the Utah State Board of Education in making recommendations regarding educator licensing and may take appropriate disciplinary action regarding educator misconduct.
For more information about UPPAC or to submit your questions to the UPPAC Q&A, contact William Spiegel at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 801-538-7500.
Read the UPPAC newsletter, “Utah School Law Update,” for more Utah public education legal news and information.