Presidential Math and Science Teaching Award Finalists Announced Today

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science TeachingThe Utah State Office of Education announced today the five finalists for the 2012 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). These finalists are now in the running for the highest recognition that a K-12 mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States.

PAEMST awards are given to mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. It recognizes teachers who develop and implement high-quality instructional programs informed by content knowledge that enhance student learning. Award recipients serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

The finalists announced today will be forwarded to the PAEMST national selection committee, which will meet this summer to review their applications for the PAEMST award. The winning PAEMST teachers will be announced next spring. Each award winner receives $10,000 from the National Science Foundation and is invited to Washington DC.

The 2012 Utah fianlists for K-6 Mathematics are:

Britnie Powell
Salt Lake Center for Science Education in Salt Lake City

Rebecca Elder
McMillan Elementary School in Murray

The 2012 Utah finalists for K-6 Science are:

Janeen Graham
Northridge Elementary in Orem

Julie Hammari
East Meadows Elementary in Spanish Fork

Gayle Shuler
Riverton Elementary in Riverton

Related posts:

Comments are closed.