Utah Students Headed to D.C.

Congratulations to Utah’s Tyler Mansfield and Rachel Sybrowsky on being selected to participate in the United States Senate Youth Program. You can read the official press release announcing the selection of the two students.

Utah Students Selected for United States Senate Youth Program
–Students Headed to Washington, D. C. and to Receive $5,000 Scholarship–

Rachel Sybrowsky of Provo and Tyler Mansfield of Vernal, were elected as delegates to the 52nd annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP).

Rachel Sybrowsky of Provo and Tyler Mansfield of Vernal, were elected as delegates to the 52nd annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP).

Senators Orrin G. Hatch and Mike Lee today announced the names of the two Utah students who have been selected as delegates to the 52nd annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) that will be held March 8 – 15, 2014 in Washington, D.C. Tyler Mansfield of Vernal and Rachel Sybrowsky of Provo were chosen from across the state to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the program’s 52nd annual Washington Week.

The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony was “to increase young Americans’ understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world.”

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings 104 of the most outstanding high school students — two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity — to Washington, D.C. for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it.

The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, The Hearst Foundations provide each of the 104 student delegates with a $5,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are also provided by The Hearst Foundations, as stipulated in S.Res.324; no government funds are utilized.

Tyler Mansfield attends Uintah High School and serves as the Student Body president. Tyler has been involved in Student Government throughout his high school career. He is involved in several high school clubs including DECA, Future Business Leaders of America, and National Honor Society. He runs cross country and plays tennis for his high school athletic teams. Following graduation, he plans to serve a full time mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and then study at Brigham Young University.

Rachel Sybrowsky attends Timpview High School and serves as the Student Body secretary. She is also the Hope Squad president, Model United Nations president and a Journalism editor. Rachel is involved in debate, mock trials, drama and athletics. She acted as one of Utah’s Girls Nation senators this summer as part of the American Legion Auxiliary’s Girls Nation program. Rachel enjoys community service and currently plans to go into law following graduation.

Chosen as alternates to the 2014 program were Bonnie Bennett, a resident of Salt Lake City, who attends East High School and Elise Clark, a resident of North Logan, who attends Sky View High School.

The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates after nomination by teachers and principals. This year’s delegates were designated by Dr. Martell Menlove, State Superintendent of Public Instruction.

While in Washington the student delegates will attend meetings and briefings with Senators and Congressional staff, the President, a Justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, an Ambassador to the United States and top members of the national media. The students will also tour many of the national monuments and several museums and they will stay at the historic Mayflower Hotel in downtown Washington, D.C.

In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to volunteer work, the student delegates rank academically in the top one percent of their states among high school juniors and seniors. Now more than 5,000 strong, alumni of the program continue to excel and develop impressive qualities that are often directed toward public service. Among the many distinguished alumni are: Senator Susan Collins, the first delegate to be elected U.S. Senator; New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, the first delegate to be elected governor; Congressman Cory Gardner, the first delegate to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives; former Chief Judge Robert Henry, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit; former Ambassador to West Germany Richard Burt, and former Presidential Advisors Thomas “Mack” McLarty and Karl Rove. Additional notables include former Lt. Governor of Idaho David LeRoy, former President of the Progressive Policy Institute Robert Shapiro, military officers, members of state legislatures, Foreign Service officers, top congressional staff, healthcare providers and university educators.

Members of the USSYP 2014 52nd annual Senate Advisory Committee are:
Co-Chairs: Senator Jon Tester of Montana and Senator Bob Corker of Tennessee;
Advisory Committee: Senator Richard Blumenthal of Connecticut, Senator Joe Manchin III of West Virginia, Senator Patty Murray of Washington, Senator Tom Udall of New Mexico, Senator Kelly Ayotte of New Hampshire, Senator John Hoeven of North Dakota, Senator Richard Shelby of Alabama and Senator David Vitter of Louisiana. Each year, the Honorary Co-Chairs of the program are the Vice President of the United States and the Senate Majority and Minority Leaders.

Related posts:

Comments are closed.