Utah Names Title I Priority, Focus, Reward Schools for 2014-15


Utah Names Title I Priority, Focus, Reward Schools for 2014-15

 The Utah State Office of Education (USOE) has identified Title I Priority, Focus, and Reward Schools for the 2014-2015 school year. These determinations were made in accordance with the accountability provisions under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) Flexibility Waiver approved by the U.S. Department of Education.

The Title I accountability system for Utah utilizes results from the Utah Comprehensive Accountability System (UCAS) to identify both low-performing and high-performing Title I schools. For the 2014-2015 school year 316 schools in Utah receive Title I funds. Two-year averages for the 2012 and 2013 criterion-referenced tests and UCAS results were used to make these determinations.


Priority Schools

Under the approved ESEA Flexibility Waiver, Utah is to identify the state’s lowest-performing 5 percent of Title I (or Title I eligible) schools as Title I Priority Schools.  These schools are required to implement major turn-around strategies to improve student achievement.  Utah’s ESEA Flexibility Waiver allowed states to identify as Title I Priority Schools those schools that were already identified and funded under the competitive Title I School Improvement Grant (Title I SIG) process.  Utah selected this option.  Utah is to identify 16 Title I schools as Priority Schools. Title I schools already named as Utah’s Title I Priority Schools are listed below. There will be a competitive grant process held in January 2015 to determine the new Priority Schools based on the successful award of the School Improvement Grant (SIG).


District School
Granite Granger High School
Granite Lincoln Elementary
Granite Roosevelt Elementary
Ogden James Madison Elementary
Salt Lake Lincoln Elementary
Salt Lake Meadow Lark Elementary
San Juan Montezuma Creek Elementary
San Juan Monument Valley High School
San Juan Tse’bii’nidzisgai Elementary
Uintah Eagle View Elementary


Focus Schools

Under the approved ESEA Flexibility Waiver, Utah is to identify the next lowest-performing 10 percent of Title I schools as Focus Schools.  These schools are required to implement Utah’s Title I School Improvement process to improve student achievement.  The ESEA Flexibility Waiver required states to identify as Focus Schools any Title I high school with a two-year average graduation rate less than 60 percent.  Additionally, the state is to identify its lowest-performing Title I schools not already on the Priority Schools list. Utah at a minimum was to identify a total of 31 Title I Focus Schools, but will be serving 35 Title I Focus Schools; they are:

District/Charter School Reason for Identification
Charter Alianza Academy Low Performing
Canyons Copperview Elementary Low Performing
Canyons Midvale Elementary Low Performing
Charter CS Lewis Academy Low Performing
Charter DaVinci Academy *Graduation rate below 60%
Davis Holt Elementary Low Performing
Davis Vae View Elementary + Low Performing
Charter Dual Immersion Academy Low Performing
Duchesne Myton Elementary Low Performing
Charter Gateway Preparatory Academy Low Performing
Granite Granite Park Jr High Low Performing
Granite Oquirrh Hills Elementary Low Performing
Granite Redwood Elementary Low Performing
Granite South Kearns Elementary Low Performing
Granite Woodrow Wilson Elementary Low Performing
Charter Guadalupe School Low Performing
Charter Merit Academy *Graduation Rate below 60%
Ogden Bonneville Elementary + Low Performing
Ogden Gramercy Elementary + Low Performing
Ogden Heritage Elementary Low Performing
Ogden Lincoln Elementary + Low Performing
Ogden Thomas O Smith Elementary Low Performing
Salt Lake Backman Elementary Low Performing
Salt Lake Bryant Middle School Low Performing
Salt Lake Parkview Elementary Low Performing
San Juan Whitehorse High School Low Performing
Tooele Anna Smith Elementary Low Performing
Uintah Eagle View Elementary Low Performing
Charter Uintah River High School *Graduation rate below 60%
Charter Utah Connections *Graduation rate below 60%
Charter Utah Virtual Academy (Elementary) Low Performing
Charter Utah Virtual Academy (Secondary) *Low Performing and Grad rate below 60%
Weber Club Heights Elementary Low Performing
Weber Lakeview Elementary  + Low Performing
Weber Roy Elementary Low Performing


+    These schools have made significant progress and are no longer in the lowest 15 percent of Title I school performance. However, the school did not reach the required threshold of achieving higher than the lowest performing 25 percent of Title I schools in order to exit Focus School Status.

*     Graduation rate based on 2013 graduation data


Reward Schools

Under the approved ESEA Flexibility Waiver, Utah is to identify its High-performing and High-progress Title I Reward Schools.  USOE reviewed the UCAS scores to identify those Title I schools that achieved the highest levels of student proficiency and those that achieved high levels of student growth.   USOE is pleased to recognize the following Title I schools for their outstanding performance:


District/Charter School
Charter Academy for Math, Engineering & Science
Alpine District Central Elementary
Alpine District Orem Junior High
Charter Bear River Charter School
Beaver District Belknap Elementary
Beaver District Minersville Elementary
Charter Beehive Science & Technology Academy
Cache District Birch Creek Elementary
Cache District Lewiston Elementary
Cache District Millville Elementary
Cache District Nibley Elementary
Cache District Park Elementary
Cache District Summit Elementary
Cache District Lincoln Elementary
Cache District Heritage Elementary
Charter Canyon Rim Academy
Carbon District Bruin Point Elementary
Emery District Ferron Elementary
Charter Freedom Academy
Garfield District Escalante Elementary
Charter Good Foundations Academy
Charter Intech Collegiate High School
Iron District Enoch Elementary
Iron District Escalante Valley Elementary
Iron District Parowan Elementary
Iron District Three Peaks Elementary
Juab District Mona Elementary
Kane District Kanab Elementary
Murray District Liberty Elementary
Murray District McMillan Elementary
Charter No Utah Academy for Math, Engineering, Science (NUAMES)
Provo District Amelia Earhart Elementary
Provo District Provost Elementary
Charter Regan Academy
Charter Salt Lake Arts Academy
Charter Soldier Hollow Charter
South Sanpete District Ephraim Elementary
Charter Summit Academy
Charter Syracuse Arts Academy
Uintah District Ashley Elementary
Wasatch District J.R. Smith Elementary
Charter Wasatch Peak Academy
Washington Springdale Elementary
Wayne Loa Elementary





Related posts:

Comments are closed.